Women in the Church and other things

Discussions about the Bible, and any issues raised by Scripture.
Anonymous

Women in the Church and other things

Post by Anonymous »

It's this fellow who thinks the Bible should be accomodated to fit our times, i.e. on issues like homosexuality and the like. I have said that God's word can't just be altered like that, but he says it can. One of the reasons he give is about this verse:
1Co 11:5 wrote:But every woman that prayeth or prophesieth with her head uncovered dishonoreth her head: for that is even all one, as if she were shaven.
"And since we obviously don't follow what Paul writes there, we can have different opinions on what's right and wrong than we had before," he says.

Firstly, even if it's true this about women with uncovered heads(I'm not an expert here), that does certainly not mean we can change other things as well. If something's wrong, it does not mean we can do even more wrong things! :!:

And secondly, it doesn't seem as crystal clear what Paul meant here, as opposed to what is written about many of the other issues debated over. But he just says "just read what it(the verse) says. It's clear. So we can accomodate the Bible".

I think I've read an article concerning this, and other similiar verses, but I can't remember where. Anyone care to explain?
Mastermind
Esteemed Senior Member

Post by Mastermind »

In my church, men aren't supposed to wear any hats and women have to(although it's not really enforced). It sucks to be a guy in the winter. :(
Poetic_Soul
Established Member
Christian: No

Post by Poetic_Soul »