A question from Genesis

Discussions on creation beliefs within Christianity, and topics related to creation.
CazPerth
Recognized Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Female
Creation Position: Undecided

A question from Genesis

Post by CazPerth »

Hi there :)

I am new to being Christian and I am forever grateful to the Lord for bringing me into His fold. I came across something in Genesis that I just don't get, no matter which way I look at it so I hope some of you wise folks can explain it to me. God created everything including the first human and apparently had a plan to save us even after Adam sinned as God apparently knew he would). Why then did God not anticipate creating a female for Adam ? Genesis has Him bringing the animals to Adam to name and to see if a suitable companion is among them and only when none is found does he create Eve? What if Adam had fancied a sheep? Why is that passage even in there if God knows the beginning and the end he would know that Adam needed a female counterpart. Its a small thing but its bugging me :)

With love and faith
Carolyn
Silvertusk
Board Moderator
Sex: Male

Re: A question from Genesis

Post by Silvertusk »

A lot of anthropomorphism is used in the Bible to relate God to concepts we can understand - for instance it seems like God was adapting to situations he did not know would come which is a very human quality - but really the whole thing was for Adam's benefit. God knew the outcome but he needed Adam to realise for himself. God does that a lot - he knows the outcomes but allows us to make the journey to figure out what he already knew. This is also a good quality in a manager.

Welcome to the board.

Silvertusk.
CazPerth
Recognized Member

Post by CazPerth »

Ok, so it is a way of illustrating that bestiality is a sin? None of the animals was suitable as a wife but Adam had to realize that for himself?
Silvertusk
Board Moderator

Post by Silvertusk »