Noah and the Ark and the great flood?

Discussion about scientific issues as they relate to God and Christianity including archaeology, origins of life, the universe, intelligent design, evolution, etc.
Shawn26
Newbie Member

Noah and the Ark and the great flood?

Post by Shawn26 »

I graduated from college with a degree in Biology, and I have been somewhat of an atheist for awhile now. My studies however have made me realize the improbability of life, and especially intelligent life, coming into existence without an intelligent designer. I am beginning to lean toward the creationist side of the argument because when you delve further into the Creation vs. Evolution debate you see that the creation model actually fits the evidence.

I had always believed that according to the bible the Earth was very young and created in six 24-hour days. I had never realized that the book of Genesis could account for an old earth. The website godandscience.org has also answered many other questions I have had, but it didn't really discuss the Noah and the Ark story that much, and so I am hoping that someone will share their thoughts on this.

I am puzzled as to how Noah could have gotten 2 of every living thing (in some cases it was more than 2, depending on if it was a clean or unclean animal) onto the Ark? There are so many organisms, and species, and each with its own habitat and diet requirements. It seems to me to be impossible! How would a penguin for instance have made the journey to where Noah was, how would it have survived on the ark, and how would it have gotten back to its habitat?