Why are so many philosophers and scientists atheists?

Discussion about scientific issues as they relate to God and Christianity including archaeology, origins of life, the universe, intelligent design, evolution, etc.
Frogsterking
Acquainted Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Theistic Evolution

Post by Frogsterking »

An overwhelming amount of philosophers and scientists are atheists. Why? Doesn't that make Christianity look bad?
narnia4
Creation Position: Undecided

Re: Why are so many philosophers and scientists atheists?

Post by narnia4 »

People may think it makes Christians look bad if they only take a superficial look at the statistics, but I've looked into this issue after getting sick of hearing about the low number of Christians in academics over and over. For some atheists it seems to become their primary argument, even though its just argumentum ad populum I studied up a bit.

One thing about statistics is that they need to be interpreted. You have to take a lot of precaution to avoid confusing correlation and causation. With skeptics eager to make Christians look bad, however, they throw all that out the window. One word about Christians and low IQ or Christians and lack of science, and secularists jump on it immediately.

I'm going to give a few general ideas about how you could interpret the numbers, and I'd say they are much more valid than "Har har, christians are stoopid!"

1. Those Christians who are interested in philosophical questions may also be interested in theology (in fact I'd say that's probably the case). So rather than go into a field that secularists had "taken control of", Christians feel called to become pastors and theologians. Atheists and agnostics who like to ask "big questions" then go into philosophy.