eHarmony Discrimination

Discussions about politics and goings on around the world. (Please keep discussions civil!)
harth1026
Familiar Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Undecided

eHarmony Discrimination

Post by harth1026 »

A while back, a gay man from New Jersey sued eHarmony for discriminating against homosexuals. While the website was well known for it success in matching straight people, it offered nothing for same sex partners. Now I'm no law expert, but in my interpretation of the law eHarmony was not doing anything illegal. As a private business, they have a right to cater to whatever groups they please. But to force them to enter a market that they have no intention of enter is down right unlawful. Other match-making sites do offer same-sex options so its not like there wasn't the option available elsewhere. And it is unfortunate that eHarmony caved to the pressures of the gay community so now they are offering services for homosexuals.

But now if it were true that eHarmony was indeed dicriminating for not offering this service, what about other matchmaking sites like CatholicSingles.com? And should they also provide services for polygamists and pedophiles? Since we're on the topic, isn't banning prayer in school a form of discrimination? Why are jobs always looking for "hard-working" individuals? That's discrimination against the lazy. Why can't I play Playstation games on my Xbox?

If eHarmony was seriously unlawfully discriminating against homosexuals, then I want tacos, pizza, and hot dogs on the McDonald's dollar menu. Cause sometimes I want that stuff, but I'm unwilling to go to other restaurants to get it...
cslewislover
Ultimate Member
Sex: Female

Re: eHarmony Discrimination

Post by cslewislover »