Question about the paranormal/supernatural

Discussions on a ranges of philosophical issues including the nature of truth and reality, personal identity, mind-body theories, epistemology, justification of beliefs, argumentation and logic, philosophy of religion, free will and determinism, etc.
Kenzel
Recognized Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Female
Creation Position: Undecided

Question about the paranormal/supernatural

Post by Kenzel »

Hey, everybody! I'm not really good at explaining stories, but I'll try. There's a ship called the Queen Mary that is haunted. Supposedly, a little girl died on that ship and now haunts around the swimming pool. People who go near the pool sometimes see the little girl, capture her on video or on a camera, hear her speak, ect...Later on, it turned out that there were never any records of a little girl dying in the ship. She was made up to bring in more tourists. People who believed in her therefore began making her real. (I hope that made sense y:-? ) My question is: How do we know that the only reason the paranormal or supernatural is real is because we believe in it? How do we know if it's not us that's making it real?

Again, I hope this question made some sense!
Maytan
Established Member
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Day-Age

Re: Question about the paranormal/supernatural

Post by Maytan »

Dr. Craig puts it something like having two jars, one filled with water and the other filled with an identical looking liquid. Say they're both labeled 'Water', does the incorrect label falsify the correct one?