Uncultured brutes

Discussions amongst Christians about life issues, walking with Christ, and general Christian topics that don't fit under any other area.
Furstentum Liechtenstein
Ultimate Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: It's Complicated
Creation Position: Young-Earth Creationist

Uncultured brutes

Post by Furstentum Liechtenstein »

I took an oil painting class last year. One evening, the woman painting on the table next to me struck up a conversation. After about a couple of hours of chit-chat, she asked me "what do you do for a living?"

-I'm a truck driver.
-You are not a truck driver!
-Yes, I am.
-I don't believe you...came her reply
-We're not all uncultured brutes, I said.

She turned out to be a lawyer. When I found out, I resisted the urge to make a crucifix with my fingers and back away in fright...

Which brings me to my point: pre-conceived notions. Usually, they serve a purpose by giving us a heads up about what we can expect. In this sense, they are useful and help us deal with life on a day-to-day basis: they save time, period.

I enjoy fine* scotch. When I tell this to other born-again Christians, I either get a funny look - as if I'd just admitted to slashing my wrists - or I get a speach on the "evils of alcohol" or biblical quotes about "strong drink." I usually reply with Romans 14, but nobody listens.

This is my "Coming out:" I enjoy scotch.

FL

*"fine" as in "very expensive."
Hold everything lightly. If you don't, it will hurt when God pries your fingers loose as He takes it from you. -Corrie Ten Boom

+ + +

If they had a social gospel in the days of the prodigal son, somebody would have given him a bed and a sandwich and he never would have gone home.

+ + +
zoegirl
Old School
Sex: Female
Creation Position: Day-Age

Re: Uncultured brutes

Post by zoegirl »

:shock: :shock: :shock:

How dare you!!

(just kidding)