Shaky faith.

Discussions amongst Christians about life issues, walking with Christ, and general Christian topics that don't fit under any other area.
Lady Bee
Acquainted Member
Christian: No

Shaky faith.

Post by Lady Bee »

Hi. I don't know if I'll get any response here but it's worth a try...

I haven't been a Christian very long. I'm a total beginner because I didn't come into contact with Christianity growing up. I find it difficult to keep my faith afloat. All the other Christians I know talk about God being so "real" to them.

But.. every time they say it my heart sinks. I never sense God at all. I never feel his presence. I don't have any experiences to fall back on when my faith gets shaky - I believe against all my experience tells me! I don't know if this is a good thing. Sometimes it just gets too hard and I feel so insecure because I need to know he's there and I just never feel like he is. Especially when I'm having a really bad day. When I feel like I need God most. He just... doesn't seem to be there at all. And how on earth I keep believing I do not know. Some days I just doubt absolutely everything. It's frustrating.

The people in my Church have been very kind to me and are trying to help me but they treat me like I'm not a Christian, because I guess somehow I give that impression with my lack of confidence and liquid faith. :( The other day in a prayer session one girl prayed that I'd find Christ. I just wanted to sink into the ground. It just makes me doubt everything even more, makes me think that I can't possibly be a Christian, and then, all these months of struggling have been in vain! I feel like it's not meant for me. I feel like God doesn't want me.

Has anybody else ever gone through similar feelings..? I don't really know what to do about it. I pray and pray and pray, and read the Bible as much as I can. But nothing seems to change.. God seems to be silent and invisible. Month after month I still feel as alone as ever.