Abortion - life begins when . . . ?

Discussion for Christian perspectives on ethical issues such as abortion, euthanasia, sexuality, and so forth.
Anonymous

Abortion - life begins when . . . ?

Post by Anonymous »

I'm making this a new topic to ensure shirtless sees it since he has departed the 'Is Abortion Murder?" thread.

In regards to the life being in the breath -- in Leviticus 17:11 God states "For the life of the flesh is in the blood, and I have given it to you on the alter to make atonement for your souls; for it is the blood by reason of the life that makes atonement."

Blood is in the embryo at stage 11 of development (23 - 26 days after fertilization, i.e.; during week 4) when organogenesis begins. I'm not an expert, but I think that it is possible that there may be some development of blood cells at a microbiological level in the earlier stages. And we really can't forego the thought that sperm and egg are 'fed' by the blood in the adult body so where does one draw the line? See http://embryology.med.unsw.edu.au/Notes/heart.htm for fetal blood development (go to http://embryology.med.unsw.edu.au if you can't get straight to the Developmental Notes, Heart/Cardiovascular system page which I first listed)

And for your further spiritual musing:
John 1
1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
2 He was in the beginning with God
3 All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being.
4 In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.
14 And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.
15 John testified about Him and cried out, saying, "This was He of whom I said, 'He who comes after me has a higher rank than I, for He existed before me.'"

Christ existed before he was conceived. When did he enter His human vessel, when did He become flesh?

Luke 1