Self-taught Greek - uphill battle?

Discussions about the Bible, and any issues raised by Scripture.
Mathetes
Acquainted Member
Christian: No

Self-taught Greek - uphill battle?

Post by Mathetes »

Hopefully we have a member or two here who know Greek. I've been endeavoring to learn it myself for a while now. However, in learning it on my own without a school or course, there are numerous difficulties, not the least of which is the ability to consult with someone who knows what they're doing. Obviously, this isn't the best way to go about it, but is it at least feasible? This is the book I'm working with and it's very basic - almost "kiddie" - for starters. Although about halfway through, it shifts gears and dives the learner into memorizing declensions and cases and prepositions, etc. Also, it poses me with the problem of where to go next after I finish that book. Any thoughts would be appreciated![/url][/i]
Jac3510
Ultimate Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Young-Earth Creationist

Post by Jac3510 »

Hey again, Math :)

I'm taking Greek now, and while it is actually a class setting, the system we're on is basically self-taught. The classes simply go over what we've studied at home, so I'm not in too different a position than you are. I've not read the book you have, but the one I'm using (and HIGHLY recommend) is William Mounce's Basics of Biblical Greek.

Tell me a little about the book's methodology, if you will. There are several ways to learn Greek. Some books are inductive, others deductive, and others a combination of both. Some require you to learn paradigm after paradigm, while others (like the one I'm using) require you to learn a few basic rules and charts and how to apply them.

How far are you in your studies?
Proinsias wrote:I don't think you are hearing me. Preference for ice cream is a moral issue