PC and the fall

Discussions on creation beliefs within Christianity, and topics related to creation.
Nicki
Christian: Yes
Sex: Female
Creation Position: Undecided

PC and the fall

Post by Nicki »

Talking about the fall in another thread got me thinking about its place in progressive creation/day-age theory. My background is that until recently nearly all I read or heard about creation events was on the side of young-earth creationism, and presented old-earth ideas as compromising Scripture. My view was that God can do anything and why not take his word at face value and simply accept that he could have created everything in six days?

While on this forum however I've become more open to other ideas. I'm just wondering about old-earthers' views on the fall of man and what effect that had. I originally (when first a Christian) assumed that its main effect was spiritual death for humans - that what was lost is what Christ gained back for us. We don't physically live for ever when we believe in him - we gain spiritual eternal life. Then I read something which said the fall actually brought physical death into the world - that previously people and animals would never have died physically. I found this counter-intuitive - so much in nature seems to be designed for the purpose of killing other animals to eat or for avoiding being killed. And what about plants - they're living things as well. I don't find this idea supported in Genesis either - it's just possibly alluded to later in passages like Isaiah 11:6 and Romans 8:19-22.

I found an article on the main site which also said the fall brought spiritual death. Do you think this was its only effect, and how does this fit with God seeing that everything was good when first created, and then the scripture from Romans which talks about creation being subjected to decay?
Kurieuo
Honored Member
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Progressive Creationist

Re: PC and the fall

Post by Kurieuo »

Hi Nicki,