Learning more about science to become more faithful

Discussion about scientific issues as they relate to God and Christianity including archaeology, origins of life, the universe, intelligent design, evolution, etc.
wpthird
Newbie Member
Christian: Yes

Learning more about science to become more faithful

Post by wpthird »

Hey there, I am relatively new to Christianity and have spent my entire life (I'm 27 now) pretty much just accepting what the western world teaches (the world being billions of years old, we evolved over a very long period of time, and that God and Christianity was a human creation and is definitely not believable)...

About 4 months ago I decided I would start reading the Bible, my wife is a Christian and told me to start looking at it with some serious eyes and pretty much give it a chance. I started reading the Bible and then began reading other articles and books, one being The Case for Christ, and started realizing That this whole Christianity thing wasn't such a scam. I am now four months in and I can pretty confidently say that I myself am a, almost completely, converted Christian.

There is however a couple things holding me back that stem from my previous "teachings". I put quotes around teaching because I can't really call it that. I would rather say brainwashing but that seems a bit harsh. What I am getting at is that from my very young age to now I have been told the way things are and have never really understood any if it, I just accepted it. Now after seeing that this so called " lie" atheists claim Christians have been following has a lot more truth than my "teachings" led on.