My testimony - continued

Share how you became a Christian, or experiences from your Christian life.
tawny
Acquainted Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Female
Creation Position: Undecided

My testimony - continued

Post by tawny »

My Testimony - Continued

So, I finally turned back to Jesus when I got to the end of my rope. I was just entering my senior year of high school, and it was a good time for me. I was fortunate that my drug, alcohol and smoking use ceased immediately when I came back to God. What was unfortunate is that the damage from the abuse I had undergone was still there, buried below the surface. Because I had not told anyone, I had buried it, and so it sat there stewing and rotting, but I refused to look at it.

Spiritually, my senior year was a good one. I met some good new friends, and felt called to the mission field. So, 5 days after I graduated from high school, I boarded a plane for Belize and spent the summer working at a YWAM base near Belmopan. I have never been closer to God. It was wonderful, and I will always cherish that time. I actually felt that God was calling me to the mission field. So, I entered college at a Christian university where I was going to get a teaching degree. Again, it was a very good year. However, as silly and petty as this sounds, I had somehow convinced myself that I was not whole without a boyfriend and I was desperate to get married. When I was in high school, there was always a line of boys that wanted to date me. After I became a Christian, that all changed.