Sigmund Freud's Future of an Illusion

Discussions on a ranges of philosophical issues including the nature of truth and reality, personal identity, mind-body theories, epistemology, justification of beliefs, argumentation and logic, philosophy of religion, free will and determinism, etc.
dorkmaster
Recognized Member
Christian: Yes
Sex: Male
Creation Position: Day-Age

Sigmund Freud's Future of an Illusion

Post by dorkmaster »

Hey guys, it's been quite a while since I've posted, but I have found myself in an interesting situation.
I am currently a third year college student, and to fulfill a graduation requirement, I signed up for a class on philosophy. Upon arriving day one, the professor writes on the board, "There is no God, therefore belief in God is irrational, therefore give up belief in God". The whole class has been on the concept of God's existence and how individuals should live in society. We have read several books on philosophy, starting with Descartes' Meditations on First Philosophy, Hume's Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion, Plato's The Trial and Death of Socrates, Kierkegaard's Fear and Trembling, and finally we are finishing up Freud's Future of an Illusion. Everything leading up to Freud has involved arguments I have seen and heard refuted or supported in different ways, but now with Freud I haven't been able to find much in terms of refutation. Specifically, Freud's arguments that religion is obviously an illusion, that religious practices involve 'rituals' that fulfill his view of the human libido: incest, cannibalism and murder, and just in general the complete lack of concrete or philosophical proof of God's existence.